Stifled love… Chapter 1

A Short Story

Chapter One… She’s in control

Standing outside my door in the cold at 10pm and I’m burning from the inside. He practically blew me off the last time we spoke so why is he here? Random thought buzz in an out of my mind and I couldn’t be patient anymore “What do you want?” I ask him, he stares at me with his usual puppy dog eyes that obviously got me the first time and I am stun by his effrontery and then he says “you”. What did he mean by you, he’s obviously mad or drunk or utterly insane to think he can stand here and say these things to me after everything he put me through.

“So you couldn’t wait till it was mor…” I’m cut short in between my sentence by his cold supple lips pressing on mine. Part of me wants to give in and the other half wants to still be in control so I push him back and then he looks at me obviously confused and all of a sudden my hands connect with his face. “What do you think of me?” I scream, “what did you think, that you could treat me like shit and then walk back like nothing happened?” I’m fighting back tears, I haven’t cried in a long time, he can’t see me cry now.

“What do you want from me?” I continue. “I know you’re only here because you think you fucked up but maybe you didn’t, maybe it’s all for a reason and I see it now” … “Baby we can work this out, we always do.” He says as he tries to hold my arm but I swiftly pull away. “Don’t call me baby, I’m not yours anymore” I say, folding my arms together in front of my chest in a power pose. “Leave”

“I knew you never loved me enough to stay”

I run inside my house, bang the door close and found myself sliding to the ground behind the door, I held my face in my palm and burst into tears. I couldn’t believe he just said that, even he knows how much I put into making this work, how could he just stand there and tell me I never loved him.

I obviously wouldn’t have stayed this long if I didn’t love him but he never even acknowledged it when I did. I’ll be taking the words of a very wise friend which is myself, “They no longer your responsibility if you no longer with them”. I comforted myself to sleep, hoping that letting go was in fact the right thing because it hurts so much.

Heyyyyyyyy! Get off that sloppy mushiness. If you like this story, kindly share on your social media platforms and leave a comment, I plan to do more of this. Thank You!! Wink Wink. Connect with me on Instagram @callhervine. Love you all.

2 thoughts on “Stifled love… Chapter 1

Leave a comment